Missing: 3.5 years worth of clippings!

I was always in the newspaper in elementary, middle and high school. Honor roll, sports, extra-curricular activities…yep, at least once a month. My mom had clipped out every article, picture, and reference to both her kids. And in they went to a scrap book that was proudly displayed at our graduation receptions.

When I went to college, I decided not to allow the school to contact my hometown newspaper about Honor Roll, SM Student of the Year, etc. It was my way of rebelling. I wanted people to think I had went away to college and became nothing. I didn’t want to be the person (**cough**Ashley**cough**) that put everything from college in the paper. Internships, awards…but ironically, NEVER Honor Roll…

Here I am, 23. And back in the newspaper. About 4 times weekly, I am the handler for a six foot snake. We visit schools and encourage reading. Last week, we were featured in the school section of the local newspaper. I can’t find it online anywhere, so I guess I don’t have proof for all you out there in cyberspace, but I will be sending a copy for my mom and dad to put on the refridgerator. And later into the scrap book…..since I’m missing 3.5 years of newspaper clippings.

Here’s a picture of the snake, in his natural habitat….

Wait….let me try that again….
Fang is the 13 year old mascot for the Wisconsin Timber Rattlers…and I am his handler and I speak on his behalf….answering questions ranging from his favorite food (Dairy Queen) to rainbows (yes, he likes rainbows because that means the rain is over and baseball can be played).
So maybe I did go to college and become nothing…but at least I was in the newspaper again! 🙂
P.S. I know I didn’t become nothing. And **cough**Ashley**cough** works in a factory.
P.P.S. I couldn’t find anything online from high school, but does this work, JilNadine? I didn’t know it existed….

 

2 Comments

  1. I sense the teensiest bit of bitterness in this post. Could you please include a newspaper clipping or link, if possible? Thanks.

  2. This works perfectly. Current newspaper clippings are what I wanted to see.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment